Skip to main content Skip to Institute of Animal Nutrition and Functional Plant Compounds navigation

Head of the working group

Johannes Novak

Ao.Univ.-Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Dr.nat.techn. Johannes Novak
T +43 1 25077-3100  
to vCard

  • Head of the working group
  • Quality of secondary metabolite–producing plants (especially medicinal and spice plants)
  • Variability and biosynthesis of phytochemicals
  • DNA-based identification of secondary metabolite -producing plants
  • Secretary General of EUROPAM (European Herb Growers Association)
  • Editorial board: Journal of Medicinal and Spice Plants, Pharmacognosy Journal
  • List of publications

Remigius Chizzola

Ao.Univ.-Prof. Dr.phil. Remigius Chizzola
T +43 1 25077-3104  
to vCard

  • Biodiversity of select secondary plant metabolites
  • Secondary plant metabolites in feedstuffs and nutritional supplements
  • Phytochemistry
  • Botany
  • Poisonous plant science, consultation with regard to poisonous plants
  • <link https: vetdoc _blank>List of Publications


Isabella Hahn-Ramssl Isabella Hahn-Ramssl
T +43 1 25077-3106  
to vCard

  • Research specialization: Veterinary phytotherapy
  • Application of functional botanical substances (phytogenic feed supplements or herbal medicines) in preventive care and/or treatment of animals
  • Information about poisonous plants
  • Consultation on the topic of veterinary phytotherapy
  • Member of the "Phytovet" working group
  • Adviser for dissertations and theses
  • Teaching activities
  • <link https: vetdoc _blank>List of publications


Karin Zitterl-Eglseer

Ao.Univ.-Prof. Mag.pharm. Dr.rer.nat. Karin Zitterl-Eglseer
T +43 1 25077-3105  
to vCard

  • Functional botanical substances for use in medicinal products, feed- and foodstuffs and nutritional supplements
  • Phytochemistry
  • Phytotherapy
  • Botany
  • Pharmacy
  • <link https: vetdoc _blank>List of publications

Representative of the director of the "Functional Botanical Substances” working group
Secondary representative of the department spokesperson
Member of the curricular commission (Diplomate/PhD/PostDoc)
Secretary of the HMPPA (Herbal Medicinal Products Platform Austria)