New animal experiment act passed by parliamentary commission

The governing parties SPÖ and ÖVP passed the new animal experiment act in the parliamentary science commission on November 28, 2012. The opposition parties voted against it.

According to the new act, animal experiments have to be divided into four categories before the approval, depending on the severity of strain for the animals. Experiments causing heavy pain that can't be eased are forbidden. There are exceptions for goo scientific reasons.

Animal welfarists are pleased about the progress, but they still see a lot to improve. The main point of criticism is that the act does not include an obligation to appoint committees. However, Austrian's Federal Minster of Science, Karlheinz Töchterle, emphasizes that Austria sets very high standards in the animal experiment act compared to other countries.