Skip to main content

Moritz Friedrich Röll (1849 - 1853)

With a prominent personality came on the scene, who had the most long-term impact on the Veterinary University in the 19th century through the substantial modification of the curriculum and the organisation of the university itself.

He was so multifaceted that he was then made professor of advanced pathology, internal medicine and pharmacology. His scientific roots were in clinical disciplines, in epidemic diseases and their control, in particular. In 1847, he was appointed Regional Veterinarian of Bohemia.

Even after his appointment to the chair in Vienna, he remained true to epidemiology. A textbook of advanced pathology and therapy of domestic animals was published in 1852 and was translated into several languages.
In 1852, he was made Director of Studies. The book, Die Tierseuchen (Epidemic Veterinary Disesases), was published in 1881 and attained great significance.
At the first international veterinary congress in Hamburg in 1863, he played a leading role. In 1865, he organised the 2nd international veterinary congress in Vienna.

Andreas Bruckmüller (1853-1874)

Rölls successor to the chair of pathological anatomy, physics, chemistry and botany in 1853 was Bruckmüller. His knowledge in a variety of fields was reflected by a series of books: “Textbook for plant growers”, “Textbook of botany”, Textbook of physics”, and “Textbook of chemistry”. His most important work, however, was his “Textbook of Pathological Zootomy of Domesticated Animals”, which must be considered as the first modern textbook of veterinary pathology. Bruckmüller also considerably enlarged the collection of pathological specimens.

The museum was established in 1850 and 25 years later it contained 2762 preparations. The subjects of pathological anatomy, physics, chemistry and botany remained united until 1871 but from then onwards Bruckmüller taught only pathological anatomy, general pathology and therapy as well as forensic veterinary medicine. He retired in 1879.

Franz Zahn (1874 - 1879)

What is known about his activities in the field of pathological anatomy is that his work focused on the pathology of infectious diseases.
The first textbook of forensic veterinary medicine, Lehrbuch der Gerichtlichen Thierheilkunde (1876), was his accomplishment.

Richard Korzil (1879 - 1880)

His duties were of short duration. Nothing is known about his activities in the field of pathological anatomy.
He had been lecturer for meat inspection since 1877. He was also the founder of the present Institute of Meat Hygiene.

Johannes Csokor (1881 - 1909)

With him, a dynamic personality was again appointed to the chair. He had diverse interests and talents. His work dealt with infectious diseases, in particular (glanders, tuberculosis, actinomycosis, botryomycosis, rabies, fowlpox, etc.).

He was devoted to experimental pathology and, thus, it was thanks to him that facilities for laboratory animals were annexed to the institute. By 1906, he held a contract to teach meat hygiene. He wrote a very extensive textbook of forensic veterinary medicine (1896), which is still a great source of information today. His artistic talent can be seen in his numerous self-made moulds, which have been preserved, as well as in his many meticulously drawn illustrations of parasites and their life cycles. 

Rudolf Hartl (1909 – 1932)

The focus of his work was on infectious diseases, in particular, in which his extensive education in the field of bacteriology was of great assistance. From this time onward, bacteriological tests were performed at the institute itself. Numerous parasitological tests were run at the institute as well.

Hartl was very fastidious, which kept him from publicising work. His entire attention was directed toward the pathological-anatomical museum, which he expanded to become presumably the most comprehensive in the German-speaking part of the world and which is still in existence today. 

Rudolf Baumann (1934 – 1956)

He was initially associate professor and then, from 1936 to 1937, professor in Ankara. Like his predecessor, he too was quite meticulous and sceptical. He also incorporated bacteriology and parasitology into his work.

Aside from the almost traditional work with epidemic diseases (Marek's disease, Teschen disease, salmonellosis in horses, infections with anaerobic bacteria, fowlpox), he also addressed other topics (tumours, the late form of rickets in dogs, osteomyelitis in young German Shepherds, myxoedema, dwarfism). He made further contributions to the pathological-anatomical museum.

Harro Köhler (1957 –1987)

His work was concentrated on diseases and rearing problems in poultry (infectious bronchitis, mycoplasmosis, encephalomalacia, avian encephalomyelitis, infectious synovitis, aflatoxin poisoning in ducks, etc.). His work in this field resulted in a textbook of poultry diseases (along with E. Gratzl). A further focus was his work with diseases in swine (E. coli enterotoxaemia, diarrhoea, iron toxicity following the application of iron dextrane, etc.).

Much work was done in studying calcinosis in cattle. Comparative pathology was also introduced through the examination of cadavers from the Schönbrunn Zoo. Immune pathology and electron microscopy were integrated into the activities of the institute. Köhler was co-publisher of two editions of a textbook of basic pathology, a handbook of advanced pathological anatomy of domestic animals, a textbook of forensic veterinary medicine and the textbook "Pathologie der Haustiere" (Pathology of Domestic Animals).Extensive construction was carried out, reorganising the institute.

Hugo Burtscher (1988 - 1996)

During the time he served as head of the chair, work was continued particularly in the field of infectious diseases. Many papers on infectious diseases in rabbits (e.g. RHD), carnivores (parvovirus infection), swine, ruminants and birds were published.
In his period of office, the complex plans for construction at the new site were intensified and finally completed. With the move to the new university campus in 1996, a long era came to a close.

Professor Burtscher retired as emeritus professor that same year and Professor Elisabeth Mayerhofer (Head of the Clinic of Radiology) assumed the temporary direction of the institute until 1999.