Skip to main content

Head

Ludwig Huber

Univ.-Prof. Dr.rer.nat. Ludwig Huber
T +43 1 25077-2680  
E-Mail

I am Professor of the Natural Science Foundations of Animal Ethics and Human-Animal Interactions,  head of the Unit of Comparative Cognition, and currently also head of the Messerli Research Institute. My research has focused on animal cognition in a broad, comparative manner, including such diverse species as pigeons, marmosets, dogs, kea, tortoise, lizards, poison frogs and humans. 

more about me


Faculty

Alice Isabel Marie Auersperg

Ass.-Prof. Priv.-Doz. Dr.rer.nat. Alice Isabel Marie Auersperg
E-Mail

I am managing the Goffin Lab since its origins in 2011. My background is in biology and my interests include the evolution of play behaviour, innovation, physical cognition and tool use. While my main focus species are parrots, I also enjoy working comparatively with primates, human children and robots.  

more about me

Raoul Schwing

Raoul Schwing, PhD.
T +43 1 25077-2695  
E-Mail

I am an animal behaviourist at heart interested in the interplay between cognitive abilities and ecological specialisation. During my studies I fell in love with the enigmatic kea parrot. Their specific behavioural profile allows for the investigation of complex cognitive skills such as cooperation and social learning, but also often overlooked phenomena such as the effect of play on sociality.

more about me

Zsofia Viranyi

Priv.-Doz. Zsofia Viranyi, PhD.
T +43 1 25077-2686  
E-Mail

As a founder of the Clever Dog Lab and the Wolf Science Center, I have conducted most of my research on dogs and wolves to study the effects of domestication on dogs’ reasoning and social learning abilities, communication and cooperation with humans and conspecifics. Deeply interested in how human and non-human animals differ and compare to each other, I enjoy comparing canine cognition to children, primates and, most recently, to pigs.

more about me

Christoph Völter

Dr.rer.nat. Christoph Völter
T +43 1 25077-2670  
E-Mail

I am interested in the evolutionary origins of flexible behaviour and abstract thought. Therefore, I study how nonhuman animals, particularly great apes and dogs, cope with new challenges using inferential reasoning or intention reading abilities. In ongoing projects, I use eye tracking and 3D body tracking technology to examine how dogs perceive and process their social and physical environment. 

more about me


PostDocs

Remco Folkertsma

Dr.rer.nat. Remco Folkertsma
E-Mail

I am a biologist with a broad background in behavioral biology, ecology and evolution. During my PhD I developed an interest in statistics and bio-informatics, and now I am a statistician in the comparative cognition team. Here I support colleagues and students in experimental design and the analysis of quantitative data.  

Associated with Platform for Bioinformatics und Biostatistics

Yuri Kawaguchi

Yuri Kawaguchi, PhD.
E-Mail

I am interested in how non-human animals recognize the age of other individuals. Which cue do they use to extract age information? Do they behave tolerantly toward infants compared with adults? As a post doc, I am investigating how dogs react to puppies versus adult dogs, here in Clever Dog Lab.

more about me

Megan Lambert

Megan Lambert, PhD.
E-Mail

As an Elise Richter fellow, I am particularly interested in how kea (a notoriously curious and innovative parrot species) learn about, understand, and solve problems in their physical environment. My current research focuses on limits of their innovative tool using abilities, the causes and functions of their curiosity, and how they reason about unobservable physical properties such as weight.

more about me

Mark Christopher O'Hara

Mag.rer.nat. Mark Christopher O'Hara, PhD.
E-Mail

I studied Animal Cognition in Vienna and found myself more and more interested in the ecological factors promoting certain cognitive traits. My current research aims at a comprehensive understanding of the Goffin’s cockatoos astonishing tool abilities, as well as the environmental circumstances in which it emerged. Furthermore, I am engaged in finding ways to protect this species and it’s habitat. 

more about me

Amelia Wein-Schwing

Univ.-Ass. Mag. Amelia Wein-Schwing, PhD.
E-Mail

I completed my PhD on vocal production in kea parrots (Nestor notabilis). I am currently working on projects investigating motor imitation in kea, stress and sexual hormones in kea, and vocal behavior in nesting kea mothers and chicks. I am interested in improving understanding of breeding behavior in parrots, as well as improving husbandry for captive birds.

more about me


PhD candidates

Jennifer Anne Colbourne

Jennifer Anne Colbourne, MA.
E-Mail

I am studying the development of tool use in both Goffin’s cockatoos and young children, working within the embodied cognition framework of tooling theory. My broader interests include how innovative tool use emerges in a species’ evolutionary history, and how innovative species adapt to their environments, particularly in urban settings.

more about me

Katherine Harrington

MS Katherine Harrington
E-Mail

I lead the Johnny Rook Project, a long-term research program for striated caracara, a rare, understudied bird in the Falkland Islands. In addition to studying their basic needs, I have joined forces with Dr. Megan Lambert’s FWF funded project to better understand how their curious nature might help them thrive in changing environmental conditions. 

more about me

Poppy Lambert

Poppy Lambert, MSc.
E-Mail

I’m a 3rd year PhD student in the Goffin Lab. I’m working with our Goffin’s cockatoos, and young children, to find out more about what influences the ability to innovate solutions to tool-use problems. I am also interested in the evolution of cognitive abilities relating to the use of weight-based information. 

more about me

Lucrezia Lonardo

Lucrezia Lonardo, MSc.
E-Mail

I am a Ph.D. student at the Clever Dog Lab. I am working on the project “Convergent Evolution of the Social Brain? A comparative dog-human fMRI approach” (supervisors: Univ.-Prof. Dr. Huber and Univ.-Prof. Dr. Lamm). The main focus of the project are theory of mind, action understanding and empathy in dogs and humans. These will be investigated by combining behavioural, eye-tracker and neuroimaging studies.

more about me

Louise Eleanor Mackie

Louise Eleanor Mackie, MSc. BSc.
E-Mail

I am a PhD student under the supervision of Ludwig Huber, working in the Clever Dog Lab. My area of interest lies in the social cognition of dogs, particularly, why and how they may use imitation (copying the actions of others) behaviour to explore their physical or social environment. 

more about me

Antonio Jose Osuna Mascaro

Dr. Antonio Jose Osuna Mascaro
E-Mail

I am a biologist with broad interest in science as reflected in my multidisciplinary background. I am a passionate science communicator, mainly related to animal cognition and directed to all kind of audiences. After finishing his PhD I studied tool use in chimpanzees. My interest is now is to unveil the tooling abilities of the Goffin’s cockatoos.

more about me

Theresa Rößler

Theresa Rößler, MSc.
E-Mail

I am a PhD Student at the Goffin Lab and I am interested in the innovative abilities of the Goffin's cockatoo. Together with Berenika Mioduszewska I launched a new paradigm, the innovation arena to systematically compare innovation rates in wild and captive cockatoos. At the moment I am additionally interested in associative tool use and Goffin Ecology. 

more about me

Gabriella Elena Smith

Gabriella Elena Smith, MA.
E-Mail

I am excited to join Dr. Megan Lambert’s FWF funded project as a PhD student studying the contexts, causes, and consequences of curiosity in kea parrots. I am interested in all kinds of animal cognition, but my main focus generally resides in expressions of physical cognition and motivation.

more about me

Elisabeth Suwandschieff

Elisabeth Suwandschieff, MSc.
E-Mail

I am a PhD candidate and am working on the FWF funded project “Motor Imitation in Kea Parrots” (supervisors: Dr. Schwing, Univ.-Prof. Dr. Bugnyar und Univ.-Prof. Dr. Huber). The focus of the project lies on social learning and the ability of kea to imitate actions or action sequences that have been demonstrated by conspecifics.

more about me

Ariane Veit

Ariane Veit, MSc.
E-Mail

Since 2016, I investigate the cognitive abilities of domestic pigs (former Clever Pig Lab). To explore the true potential of these animals I consider living conditions as natural as possible to be of particular importance. Within a DOC project financed by the ÖAW, I currently investigate various factors influencing social learning, such as personality, social status, and cognitive abilities.

more about me

Jeroen Stephan Zewald

Jeroen Stephan Zewald, MSc.
E-Mail

I am a PhD-candidate at the Messerli research institute. I am working with tool-using Goffin cockatoos at the Goffin lab, where I research how object combinations and object play can help in creating new ways to use and/or manufacture new tools in novel situations.

more about me


Administration & technical support

Wolfgang Aust-Berger
T +43 1 25077-2698   6254  
E-Mail

I develop the technical equipment for cognitive research and am also responsible for maintaining the laboratories and their facilities. I also build experimental apparatus for various animal species.

mehr über mich

Karin Bayer

Mag.rer.nat. Karin Bayer
T +43 1 25077-2690  
E-Mail

I am lab manager at the Clever Dog Lab. After my studies in biology (with a focus on zoology), I completed training as a dog behaviour consultant. It is a great pleasure to welcome so many committed dog owners to the Clever Dog Lab for various studies. 

more about me

Jennifer Bentlage

Jennifer Bentlage, MSc.
T +43 1 25077-2681  
E-Mail

I am the head of the institut's administration with its diverse tasks. In addition, I am the unit's assistant and central contact person for administrative matters. My degree in behavioural, neuroscience and cognitive biology enables me to master the interface between science and administration.

more about me

Karoline Eadie

Karoline Eadie, MA.
T +43 1 25077-2691  
E-Mail

I am unfortunately unavailable for the time being. Any emails addressed to me will be automatically be forwarded to kognition.sekretariat@vetmeduni.ac.at.

more about me

Peter Füreder

Peter Füreder
T +43 1 25077-2697  
E-Mail

I am responsible for the construction and operation of the IT infrastructure and care for the smooth operation of technical equipment for research.

Peter Helf

Peter Helf, BSc.
E-Mail

The focus of my work is the design and development of new software systems. These systems are used to gather and store data in various research projects. The developed applications range from smartphone and tablet apps to websites and APIs. The architecture of these systems must be flexible to allow the implementation of new and changing requirements.

Associated with Center for Medical Physics and Biomedical Engineering, Medical University Vienna

 


Lab assistants

Markus Fitzka

Ing. Markus Fitzka
E-Mail

As a technician at the Goffin Lab, I keep the station in good shape. I particularly enjoy tinkering and building experiments for the cockatoos.In my private life I like to dive and enjoy the underwater world.

more about me

 

Tobias Geiler

Tobias Geiler
E-Mail

 

 

Laura Laussegger

Laura Laussegger
E-Mail

I am an animal welfare qualified dog trainer and work in the Clever Dog Lab. There I have the beautiful and exciting task of training pet dogs. In the course of the project "Convergent evolution of the social brain? A comparative dog-human fMRI research approach (EVOSOCBRAIN)", I teach the dogs everything they need to know in order to participate in the eye-tracker and neuroimaging studies.

Berenika Mioduszewska

Berenika Mioduszewska, MSc.
E-Mail

Coming from a psychological background, I have always been fascinated by how other sentient beings think. My current research aims to investigate cognition together with the ecological conditions in which it develops. 

more about me

Marion Umek
E-Mail

 

 

Florian Vogel
T +43 1 25077-2696  
E-Mail

I am working at Haidlhof as a zoo-skilled animal keeper and assumed responsibility as head of animal care in 2013. According to this and to my tasks as an apprentice trainer I work as a practicum instructor and teacher at the Tierpfleger Schule at the Vetmeduni.

 

Heidelinde Wanas

Heidelinde Wanas, MAS
E-Mail

After working in the construction industry for nearly 20 years, I became Certified Animal Trainer and Certified Animal Masseur and Animal Movement Coach. Since then I have been working as an animal trainer with the main focus on training dogs and cashmere goats. Since May 2019 I am the Animal Manager of the Goffin Lab Goldegg. 

 

Alumni

Sabrina Karl, PhD (2022)

Amelia Wein-Schwing, PhD (2020) 

Durga Chapagain, PhD (2019)

Giulia Cimarelli, PhD (2018)

Désirée Brucks, PhD (2017)

Jennifer Essler, PhD (2017)

Anjuli Barber, PhD (2017)

Rachel Dale, PhD (2017)

Mylène Quervel-Chaumette, PhD (2016)

Lisa Wallis, PhD (2016)

Mark O'Hara, PhD (2016)

Stefanie Riemer, PhD (2014)

Lisa Horn, PhD (2012)

Skip to main content

Leiter

Ludwig Huber

Univ.-Prof. Dr.rer.nat. Ludwig Huber
T +43 1 25077-2680  
E-Mail

Ich bin Professor für die naturwissenschaftlichen Grundlagen der Tierethik und der Mensch-Tier-Beziehung, Leiter der Abteilung für vergleichende Kognitionsforschung und derzeit auch Leiter des Messerli Forschungsinstituts. Meine Forschung konzentriert sich auf die Kognition von Tieren in einem breiten, vergleichenden Ansatz, der so unterschiedliche Arten wie Tauben, Krallenäffchen, Hunde, Kea, Schildkröten, Eidechsen, Pfeilgiftfrösche und Menschen umfasst. 

mehr über mich


Faculty

Alice Isabel Marie Auersperg

Assoz.Prof. Priv.-Doz. Dr.rer.nat. Alice Isabel Marie Auersperg
E-Mail

Ich leite das Goffin Lab seit der Gründung im Jahr 2011. Ich bin Biologie und meine Interessen umfassen die Entwicklung von Spielverhalten, Innovation, technische Kognition und Werkzeuggebrauch. Während mein Hauptaugenmerk auf Papageien liegt, arbeite ich auch gerne vergleichend mit Primaten, Menschenkindern und Robotern.

mehr über mich

Raoul Schwing

Raoul Schwing, PhD.
T +43 1 25077-2695  
E-Mail

Ich bin von Herzen ein Verhaltensforscher der an dem Zusammenspiel von kognitiven Fähigkeiten und ökologischer Spezialisierung interessiert ist. Während meines Studiums habe ich mich in den enigmatischen Keapapagei verliebt. Dessen Verhaltensprofil erlaubt es komplexe Kognition wie Kooperation und soziales Lernen sowie unterschätzte Verhaltensphänomene wie die Auswirkung von Spiel zu untersuchen.

mehr über mich

Zsofia Viranyi

Priv.-Doz. Zsofia Viranyi, PhD.
T +43 1 25077-2686  
E-Mail

 

Als Gründerin des Clever Dog Labs und des Wolf Science Centers habe ich den größten Teil meiner Forschung an Hunden und Wölfen durchgeführt, um die Auswirkungen der Domestikation auf das Denkvermögen und die sozialen Lernfähigkeiten von Hunden sowie die Kommunikation und Kooperation mit Menschen und Artgenossen zu untersuchen. Ich interessiere mich sehr dafür, wie sich menschliche und nicht-menschliche Tiere unterscheiden und vergleichen lassen, und vergleiche die kognitiven Fähigkeiten von Hunden gerne mit denen von Kindern, Primaten und seit kurzem auch mit denen von Schweinen.

mehr über mich

Christoph Völter

Dr.rer.nat. Christoph Völter
T +43 1 25077-2670  
E-Mail

Ich interessiere mich für die evolutionären Ursprünge von flexiblem Verhalten und abstraktem Denken. Daher untersuche ich wie nicht-menschliche Tiere, insbesondere Menschenaffen und Hunde, Probleme lösen. In laufenden Projekten verwende ich Eye-Tracking- und 3D-Body-Tracking-Technologie, um zu verstehen, wie Hunde ihre soziale und physische Umgebung wahrnehmen und verarbeiten. 

mehr über mich


PostDocs

Remco Folkertsma

Dr.rer.nat. Remco Folkertsma
E-Mail

Ich bin Biologe mit einem breiten Hintergrund in Verhaltensbiologie, Ökologie und Evolution. Während meines Doktorats entwickelte ich ein Interesse an Statistik und Bioinformatik und bin nun Statistiker im Team für Vergleichende Kognitionforschung. Hier unterstütze ich Kollegen und Studenten bei der Versuchsplanung und der Analyse quantitativer Daten.  

Assoziiert mit der Plattform Bioinformatik und Biostatistik

Yuri Kawaguchi

Yuri Kawaguchi, PhD.
E-Mail

Ich interessiere mich dafür, wie nicht-menschliche Tiere das Alter anderer Individuen erkennen. Welchen Anhaltspunkt verwenden sie, um Altersinformationen zu erhalten? Verhalten sie sich gegenüber Kleinkindern toleranter als gegenüber Erwachsenen? Als PostDoc untersuche ich hier im Clever Dog Lab, wie Hunde auf Welpen und erwachsene Hunde reagieren.

mehr über mich

Megan Lambert

Megan Lambert, PhD.
E-Mail

Als Elise-Richter-Stipendiatin interessiere ich mich besonders dafür, wie Kea (eine notorisch neugierige und innovative Papageienart) über ihre physische Umgebung lernen, sie verstehen und Probleme lösen. Meine derzeitige Forschung konzentriert sich auf die Grenzen ihrer innovativen Fähigkeiten im Umgang mit Werkzeugen, die Ursachen und Funktionen ihrer Neugierde und wie sie über unbeobachtbare physikalische Eigenschaften wie das Gewicht nachdenken.

mehr über mich

Mark Christopher O'Hara

Mag.rer.nat. Mark Christopher O'Hara, PhD.
E-Mail

Ich habe in Wien Kognitionsbiologie studiert und mich sehr für die ökologischen Faktoren interessiert, welche bestimmte kognitive Eigenschaften fördern. Mit meiner Forschung hoffe ich die Werkzeugfähigkeiten der Kakadus sowie die Bedingungen unter welchen diese entstanden sind besser zu verstehen. Außerdem setze ich mich für den Schutz des Goffini Kakadu und seines Lebensraums ein.

mehr über mich

Amelia Wein-Schwing

Univ.-Ass. Mag. Amelia Wein-Schwing, PhD.
E-Mail

Ich habe meine Doktorarbeit über die Lautproduktion bei Kea-Papageien (Nestor notabilis) abgeschlossen. Derzeit arbeite ich an Projekten zur Untersuchung der motorischen Nachahmung bei Keas, von Stress und Sexualhormonen bei Keas und des Lautverhaltens von nistenden Kea-Müttern und -Küken. Ich bin daran interessiert, das Brutverhalten von Papageien besser zu verstehen und die Haltung von Vögeln in Gefangenschaft zu verbessern.

mehr über mich


Doktorandinnen & Doktoranden

Jennifer Anne Colbourne

Jennifer Anne Colbourne, MA.
E-Mail

Ich untersuche die Entwicklung des Werkzeuggebrauchs sowohl bei Goffin-Kakadus als auch bei Kleinkindern und arbeite dabei im Rahmen der "embodied cognition" Werkzeugtheorie. Mein allgemeines Interesse gilt der Frage, wie innovativer Werkzeuggebrauch in der Evolutionsgeschichte einer Spezies entsteht und wie sich innovative Spezies an ihre Umwelt anpassen, insbesondere in städtischen Umgebungen.

mehr über mich

Katherine Harrington

MS Katherine Harrington
E-Mail

Ich leite das Johnny Rook Projekt, ein langfristiges Forschungsprogramm für gestreifte Karakaras, eine seltene, wenig erforschte Vogelart auf den Falklandinseln. Neben der Untersuchung ihrer Grundbedürfnisse habe ich mich mit dem vom FWF geförderten Projekt von Dr. Megan Lambert angeschlossen, um besser zu verstehen, wie ihre neugierige Natur ihnen helfen könnte, unter sich verändernden Umweltbedingungen zu bestehen.

mehr über mich

Poppy Lambert

Poppy Lambert, MSc.
E-Mail

Ich bin Doktorandin im 3. Jahr im Goffin-Labor. Ich arbeite mit unseren Goffin-Kakadus und Kleinkindern, um mehr darüber herauszufinden, was die Fähigkeit beeinflusst, innovative Lösungen für Probleme bei der Werkzeugnutzung zu finden. Außerdem interessiere ich mich für die Entwicklung der kognitiven Fähigkeiten im Zusammenhang mit der Nutzung gewichtsbezogener Informationen. 

mehr über mich

Lucrezia Lonardo

Lucrezia Lonardo, MSc.
E-Mail

Ich bin Doktorandin im Clever Dog Lab und arbeite an dem Projekt "Konvergente Evolution des sozialen Gehirns? Ein vergleichender Hund-Mensch fMRT Forschungsansatz (Betreuer: Univ.-Prof. Dr. Huber und Univ.-Prof. Dr. Lamm). Der Schwerpunkt des Projekts liegt auf Theory of Mind, Handlungsverständnis und Empathie bei Hund und Mensch. Diese werden durch eine Kombination von Verhaltens-, Eye-Tracker- und Neuroimaging-Studien untersucht.

mehr über mich

Louise Eleanor Mackie

Louise Eleanor Mackie, MSc. BSc.
E-Mail

Ich bin Doktorandin, betreut von Ludwig Huber, und arbeite im Clever Dog Lab. Mein Interesse gilt der sozialen Kognition von Hunden, insbesondere der Frage, warum und wie sie ihr Verhalten zur Erkundung ihrer physischen oder sozialen Umgebung durch Nachahmung (Kopieren der Handlungen anderer) einsetzen.

mehr über mich

Antonio Jose Osuna Mascaro

Dr. Antonio Jose Osuna Mascaro
E-Mail

Ich bin Biologe mit breitem Interesse an Naturwissenschaften, was sich in meinem multidisziplinären Hintergrund widerspiegelt. Zudem bin ich ein leidenschaftlicher Wissenschaftskommunikator. Nach meiner Promotion studierte ich den Werkzeuggebrauch bei Schimpansen. Mein Interesse besteht nun darin, die Werkzeugfähigkeiten der Kakadus des Goffini Kakadus zu enthüllen.

mehr über mich

Theresa Rößler

Theresa Rößler, MSc.
E-Mail

Ich bin PhD Studentin am Goffin Lab und interessiere mich für die innovativen Fähigkeiten der Kakadus. Zusammen mit B. Mioduszewska habe ich ein neues Testsetup entwickelt: Die Innovationsarena erlaubt den systematischen Vergleich der Innovationsraten von wildlebenden und in Gefangenschaft gehaltenen Kakadus. Momentan interessiere ich mich zusätzlich für assoziativen Werkzeuggebrauch und Ökologie.

mehr über mich

Gabriella Elena Smith

Gabriella Elena Smith, MA.
E-Mail

Ich freue mich, im Rahmen des vom FWF geförderten Projekts von Dr. Megan Lambert als PhD-Studentin die Zusammenhänge, Ursachen und Folgen von Neugier bei Kea-Papageien zu untersuchen. Ich interessiere mich für alle Arten von Kognition bei Tieren, aber mein Hauptaugenmerk liegt im Allgemeinen auf den Ausprägungen von physikalischer Kognition und Motivation.

mehr über mich

Elisabeth Suwandschieff

Elisabeth Suwandschieff, MSc.
E-Mail

Ich bin Doktorandin und arbeite an dem FWF finanzierten Projekt „Motorische Imitation in Kea Papageien“ (Betreuer: Dr. Schwing, Univ.-Prof. Dr. Bugnyar und Univ.-Prof. Dr. Huber). Der Schwerpunkt des Projektes liegt auf sozialem Lernen und der Frage ob Keas von Artgenossen demonstrierte (motorische) Abläufe imitieren. 

mehr über mich

Ariane Veit

Ariane Veit, MSc.
E-Mail

Seit 2016 befasse ich mich mit den kognitiven Fähigkeiten von Hausschweinen (ehem. Clever Pig Lab). Der Aspekt der weitestgehend natürlichen Lebensumstände ist mir wichtig, um das volle Potential dieser Tiere zu ergründen. In einem vom ÖAW finanzierten DOC Projekt erforsche ich derzeit verschiedenste Einflüsse wie Persönlichkeit, sozialer Status und kognitive Fähigkeiten auf soziales Lernen.

mehr über mich

Jeroen Stephan Zewald

Jeroen Stephan Zewald, MSc.
E-Mail

Ich bin PhD Student am Messerli Forschungsinstitut. Ich arbeite am Goffin Lab und interessiere mich dafür wie Objektkombinationen und Objektspiel dazu beitragen können, Möglichkeiten zur Verwendung und/oder zur Herstellung von Werkzeugen in neuartigen Situationen zu schaffen.

mehr über mich


Administration & Technik

Wolfgang Aust-Berger
T +43 1 25077-2698   6254  
E-Mail

Ich entwickle das technische Equipment für die Kognitionsforschung und bin auch für die Instandhaltung der Labore und ihrer Einrichtungen zuständig. Weiters baue ich Versuchsapparaturen für diverse Tierarten.

mehr über mich

Karin Bayer

Mag.rer.nat. Karin Bayer
T +43 1 25077-2690  
E-Mail

Ich bin Labor Managerin im Clever Dog Lab. Nach meinem Biologiestudium (mit Schwerpunkt Zoologie) habe ich eine Ausbildung zur Hundeverhaltensberaterin absolviert. Es ist mir eine große Freude, so viele engagierte Hundehalter im Clever Dog Lab für verschiedene Studien begrüßen zu dürfen.

mehr über mich

Jennifer Bentlage

Jennifer Bentlage, MSc.
T +43 1 25077-2681  
E-Mail

Ich leite das Institutsreferat mit seinen vielfältigen Aufgaben. 

Zusätzlich bin ich Assistentin der Abteilung und zentrale Ansprechperson in administrativen Angelegenheiten. Mein Abschluss in Verhaltens-, Neuro- und Kognitionsbiologie ermöglicht es mir die Schnittstelle zwischen Wissenschaft und Administration zu meistern. 

mehr über mich

Karoline Eadie

Karoline Eadie, MA.
E-Mail

Ich bin bis auf Weiteres leider nicht erreichbar.  An mich adressierte Emails werden automatisch an kognition.sekretariat@vetmeduni.ac.at weitergeleitet.

mehr über mich

Peter Füreder

Peter Füreder
T +43 1 25077-2697  
E-Mail

Ich bin für Aufbau und Betrieb der IT-Infrastruktur zuständig und kümmere mich um die reibungslose Funktion des technischen Equipments für die Forschung. 

Peter Helf

Peter Helf, BSc.
E-Mail

Der Fokus meiner Arbeit liegt auf dem Designen und Entwickeln neuer Softwaresysteme. Diese Systeme werden für das Sammeln und Speichern von Forschungsdaten in verschiedenen Forschungsprojekten verwendet. Die Applikationen reichen von Smartphone- und Tablet-Apps bis zu Webseiten und APIs. Die Architektur dieser Systeme muss eine leichte Implementierung von neuen Anforderungen erlauben.

Assoziiert mit dem Zentrum für Medizinische Physik und Biomedizinische Technik, Medizinische Universität Wien

 

Hayyel Yun

Hayyel Yun
T +43 1 25077-2691  
E-Mail


Labor Assistentinnen & Assistenten

Markus Fitzka

Ing. Markus Fitzka
E-Mail

Als Techniker am Goffin Lab halte ich die Station in Schuss. Das Basteln und Bauen von Experimenten für die Kakadus macht mir besonders viel Spaß. Privat tauche ich gerne und genieße die Unterwasserwelt.

mehr über mich

 

Tobias Geiler

Tobias Geiler
E-Mail

 

 

Linda Kalb

Linda Kalb, BA.
E-Mail

Ich bin Studentin des Interdisciplinary Master in Human-Animal Interaction und arbeite im Clever Dog Lab unter der Leitung von Univ.-Prof. Dr.rer.nat. Ludwig Huber an einem Touchscreen Projekt.

Laura Laussegger

Laura Laussegger
E-Mail

Ich bin tierschutzqualifizierte Hundetrainerin und arbeite im Clever Dog Lab. Dort habe ich die schöne und spannende Aufgabe Haushunde zu trainieren. Im Zuge des Projekts „Konvergente Evolution des sozialen Gehirns? Ein vergleichender Hund-Mensch fMRT Forschungsansatz (EVOSOCBRAIN)“ lernen die Hunde bei mir alles Notwendige um an den Eye-Tracker- und Neuroimaging-Studien teilnehmen zu können.

Berenika Mioduszewska

Berenika Mioduszewska, MSc.
E-Mail

Da ich einen psychologischen Hintergrund habe, war ich schon immer davon fasziniert, wie andere Lebewesen denken. Meine aktuelle Forschung zielt darauf ab, Kognition zusammen mit den ökologischen Bedingungen, unter denen sie sich entwickelt hat, zu untersuchen.

mehr über mich

Marion Umek
E-Mail

 

 

Florian Vogel
T +43 1 25077-2696  
E-Mail

Ich arbeite als gelernter Tierpfleger - Fachrichtung Zoo seit Frühjahr 2013 am Haidlhof und übernahm Ende 2013 die tierpflegerische Leitung an der Forschungsstation. Zusätzlich dazu und zu meiner Tätigkeit als Lehrlingsausbilder bin ich seit 2016 auch Praktikumslehrer an der Tierpflegerschule an der Vetmeduni.

 

Heidelinde Wanas

Heidelinde Wanas, MAS
E-Mail

Nachdem ich fast 20 Jahre in der Baubranche gearbeitet hatte, wurde ich zertifizierter Tiertrainer, Tiermasseur und Tierbewegungscoach. Seitdem arbeite ich als Tiertrainer mit Fokus auf das Training von Hunden und Kaschmirziegen. Seit Mai 2019 bin ich Tiermanagerin des Goffin Labs Goldegg.

 

Alumni

Sabrina Karl, PhD (2022)

Amelia Wein-Schwing, PhD (2020) 

Durga Chapagain, PhD (2019)

Giulia Cimarelli, PhD (2018)

Désirée Brucks, PhD (2017)

Jennifer Essler, PhD (2017)

Anjuli Barber, PhD (2017)

Rachel Dale, PhD (2017)

Mylène Quervel-Chaumette, PhD (2016)

Lisa Wallis, PhD (2016)

Mark O'Hara, PhD (2016)

Stefanie Riemer, PhD (2014)

Lisa Horn, PhD (2012)