Skip to main content

Highlights

Are dogs sensitive to human mental states?

A new CDL study provides new insights on dogs’ perspective-taking abilities. In the study published in the journal Proceedings of the Royal Society B (Lonardo et al. 2021) dogs reacted differently in response to human informants holding true and false beliefs about the location of a treat. This finding, along with our previous research, raises the intriguing possibility that dogs share our ability to represent others’ minds (perspective taking, Theory of Mind).

 


What do dogs feel when their caregiver shows affection to other dogs?

Dogs excel at reading the body language, behaviour and communicative signals of humans. But how do they interpret their caregivers’ behaviour towards others, particularly towards other dogs? A recent CDL study in collaboration with the SCAN Unit of the University of Vienna used functional magnetic resonance imaging to show for the first time what goes on in the dogs’ brain when they watched their caregiver greeting another dog (Karl et al. 2021 Cerebral Cortex Communications). The study was conducted at the co-founded Comparative Canine Neuroimaging Unit.


ManyDogs, a new international research collaboration, officially launched

In the ManyDogs initiative, we work together with canine cognition researchers from all around the world with the aim to foster collaboration and open science practices and to draw more robust conclusions about dogs’ cognitive abilities, including their variability across individuals and breeds. We are currently running our first study, ManyDogs 1 (Espinosa et al. 2021 PsyArXiv), on dog-human social communication. The aim is to take a closer look at the long-debated question of whether dogs understand pointing as an informative gesture, as an imperative command, or as a simple associative cue?

Skip to main content

Highlights

Sind Hunde sensibel für menschliche Geisteszustände?

Eine neue CDL-Studie liefert neue Erkenntnisse über die Fähigkeit von Hunden zur Perspektivenübernahme. In der in der Fachzeitschrift Proceedings of the Royal Society B (Lonardo et al. 2021) veröffentlichten Studie reagierten Hunde unterschiedlich, wenn menschliche Informanten wahre oder falsche Vorstellungen über den Standort eines Leckerchens hatten. Dieses Ergebnis und unsere früheren Forschungsergebnisse lassen die faszinierende Hypothese zu, dass Hunde die Fähigkeit besitzen, die Gedanken anderer zu repräsentieren (Theory of Mind).

Pressemeldung


Was fühlen Hunde, wenn ihre Bezugsperson einen anderen Hund streichelt?

Hunde können die Körpersprache, das Verhalten und kommunikative Signale von Menschen deuten. Aber wie interpretieren sie das Verhalten ihrer Bezugspersonen gegenüber anderen, insbesondere gegenüber Hunden? In einer kürzlich durchgeführten CDL-Studie in Zusammenarbeit mit der SCAN-Einheit der Universität Wien wurde mit Hilfe von fMRI zum ersten Mal gezeigt, was im Gehirn von Hunden vor sich geht, wenn sie ihre Bezugsperson einen anderen Hund streicheln sehen (Karl et al. 2021 Cerebral Cortex Communications). Die Studie wurde an der mitbegründeten Comparative Canine Neuroimaging Unit durchgeführt.

Pressemeldung


ManyDogs, eine neue internationale Forschungskooperation, offiziell gestartet

Im Rahmen der ManyDogs-Initiative arbeiten wir mit Hunde-Forschern aus der ganzen Welt zusammen. Ziel ist es, die Zusammenarbeit und offene wissenschaftliche Praktiken zu fördern und solidere Schlussfolgerungen über die kognitiven Fähigkeiten von Hunden zu ziehen, einschließlich ihrer Variabilität zwischen Individuen und Rassen. Derzeit führen wir unsere erste Studie, ManyDogs 1 (Espinosa et al. 2021 PsyArXiv) zur sozialen Kommunikation zwischen Hund und Mensch durch, um die Frage, ob Hunde die Zeigegeste als Information, als Befehl oder als assoziativen Hinweis verstehen, zu untersuchen.